R is for: Representatives, the Secretariat, and the Board of Executive Trustees

Elections to the Committee of Representatives are held every two years. They form the largest part of the legislative branch of the Bureaucracy.

Representatives are elected based on population sizes – one might work on behalf of a small island out on the fringes of the IICP, whilst another might represent a small neighbourhood in New Pacific City.

Whilst their campaigns for election may focus on local concerns, upon election to the Committee they are able to amplify their ambitions. A start working to fight substance abuse on a small island, and the promise to secure government funding in that regard, often leads to work with the Department of Health to tackle the wider issues and funding levels. Starting out as a union rep often leads to joining voting blocs of similar interests in the Committee, and securing better standards not only for their union members but for the rest of the general populace.

Representatives can have ties to and work on behalf of communities, unions, corporations, organised crime, gangs, quangos and nomad families.

There is no term limit.


Elections to the Secretariat are held every two years, but terms last for four – only half face the ballot at a time. Whilst forming a smaller part of the legislature, they sit on management boards for the various Departments of the Bureaucracy, playing an active role in the steering of important decisions and public policy.

Secretaries are elected based on population centres. One might cover a couple of smaller islands or one larger island. There are several secretaries representing New Pacific City, and one for UPtown.

Generally, secretaries have served a term or two in the Committee of Representatives, and it’s not unknown for them to return there after serving in the Secretariat.

Secretaries serve a maximum of three terms.


The Board of Executive Trustees, normally referred to as ‘the Board’, is the executive branch of the Bureaucracy.

Elections for the Board are held every eight years. Nominees to the positions are proposed by members of the Secretariat and the Committee of Representatives, though the nominees do not have to be members of either.

The trustees are each elected to their role in the management boards of each Department in the Bureaucracy. They may introduce new policies but do not vote on their implementation unless a deciding vote in needed. They more normally manage the day to day affairs of each Department, ensuring it

They more normally manage the day to day affairs of each Department, ensuring each runs smoothly and important decisions of policy are implemented as swiftly as possible.

Board members serve a maximum of one term per trustee position, though no one has been elected to multiple seats to date.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s